Thursday, May 9, 2013

New Deputy Governor of Ekiti State is sworn in

The new Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Professor Modupe Adelabu, was sworn in, yesterday, following her confirmation by the state House of Assembly, Tuesday.
The 63-year-old Professor of Education was sworn in by the state Chief Judge, Justice Ayodeji Daramola at the Government House, Ado-Ekiti.

Speaking at the ceremony, which was well attended by dignitaries from different parts of the country, Governor Kayode Fayemi said the appointment of Prof. Adelabu was received with “overwhelming approval” from the people, because she is a round peg in a round hole.
Fayemi, who expressed confidence that the new Deputy Governor would perform well, urged her to continue to endear herself to the hearts of the people as she steps into the shoe left by her predecessor, late Mrs Funmi Olayinka.
Her speech
In her acceptance speech, the new Deputy Governor extolled the virtues of her predecessor, saying that she really served the people tirelessly and would continue to be remembered for her selfless service.
She promised to continue with the good works started by Olayinka and see them to completion.
Adelabu also pledged her unalloyed support to the people and government of Ekiti State and assured that she would justify the confidence reposed in her by the governor.
The former SUBEB Chairperson said that she had accepted the new assignment “in faith and not in fear,” stressing that the state would thrive better during her time.
Roll call
At the event were the wife of the Governor, Erelu Bisi Fayemi; first civilian governor of the state, Otunba Niyi Adebayo; former Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Alani Akinrinade; the Ooni of Ife, Oba Sijuade Okunola; Deji of Akure, Oba Adebiyi Adesida and Chairman, Ekiti State Traditional Council and Owa Ooye of Okemesi, Oba Gbadebo Adedeji.
Others are Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, Oba Adeyemo Adejugbe; Speaker, state House of Assembly, Dr Adewale Omirin; a former Lagos State Commissioner for Establishment, Mrs Teju Philips; the state Chairman, Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, Chief Jide Awe, among other dignitaries.


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Designed by Digilabz and Info-Tech